Feb 25, 2024

KLETC graduates 321st Basic Training Class

Posted Feb 25, 2024 11:00 AM
The 321st Basic Training Class from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center. Photo by Jeff Tuttle.
The 321st Basic Training Class from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center. Photo by Jeff Tuttle.


RENO COUNTY, Kan. — Twenty-two new law enforcement officers, including one from Hutchinson, graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center (KLETC) on February 23, 2024, in a ceremony held in KLETC's Integrity Auditorium. KLETC Police Instructor Senior Mike Satterlee was the class coordinator for the graduating class, and the commencement speaker for the ceremony was Kansas Commission on Peace Officers' Standards and Training Executive Director Doug Schroeder.

Executive Director Schroeder encouraged the graduates to consider their priorities daily because as law enforcement officers, they will work long hours, give a lot to their communities, and miss social and family events. “An intentional and routine, honest evaluation is needed of your priorities daily to make sure they stay in line.” Throughout his remarks, Executive Director Schroeder offered words of encouragement, and in closing, a call to action. 

“Class 321, I encourage you to grow more self-aware; I encourage you not to be afraid of failure; I encourage you to reconsider your priorities daily.”

Under the authority of Vice Provost and Director of Police Training Darin Beck, graduates received certificates attesting to the satisfactory completion of a full-time basic course of instruction, and certification as Kansas law enforcement officers from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training, the state’s law enforcement licensing authority.

Below are the graduates of the 321st basic training class, with Hutch Post area officers in bold:

*Award recipient

Christian Aden - Ottawa Police Department

Jairo Camarena - Haysville Police Department

Diego Fisher - Salina Police Department

Tucker Gehrt - Riley County Police Department

Steven Johnson - Coffeyville Police Department

Christopher Johnson - Salina Police Department

Jalen Keener - Andover Police Department

Patrick Kelly - Hays Police Department*Honors

Jacob Liles - Paola Police Department*Fitness

David Montague - Lansing Police Department*Honors, Fitness

Jennifer Morris - Wyandotte County Sheriff's Office

Bobby Nevares - Garden City Police Department

Andre Parks - Lyons Police Department

Devon Peak - Hutchinson Police Department

Deborah Rushing - Shawnee Mission School District PD*Honors, Fitness

Caleb Savage - Ottawa Police Department

Brandon Shaver - Andover Police Department

Damian Stos - Larned Police Department

Mason Taylor - Garden City Comm College Campus Police

Andrew Unruh - Garden City Police Department

Jared Vonfeldt - Barton County Sheriff's Office

Cole Zade - Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks

CLICK HERE to download the Hutch Post mobile app.
CLICK HERE to sign up for the daily Hutch Post email news update.