May 18, 2024

Governor's scholars named

Posted May 18, 2024 8:59 AM
Gov. Laura Kelly with 2024 Governor's Scholar, Daven Helton of Hutchinson.
Gov. Laura Kelly with 2024 Governor's Scholar, Daven Helton of Hutchinson.

Office of Gov. Laura Kelly

TOPEKA, Kan. — At the invitation of the Kansas Governor Laura Kelly, several area scholars were selected to attend the 41st Annual Governor’s Scholars Award Program on May 5, 2024 in Topeka.

Those include Malloree Matlack from Burrton, Jory Ratzlaff from Canton-Galva, Teigan Nielsen and Layne Whisler from Buhler, Amelia Meng from Cheney, Melissa Donecker from Central Plains, Taylor Schultz from Cunningham, Jake Flaming from Goessel, Ryan Diller from Hesston, Josh Burns from Halstead, Sadie Estill from Haven, Natalie Jensen from Hutchinson Central Christian, Andrea Edwards, Daven Helton, Felecia Selgrade and Ella Yoder from Hutchinson, Blake Griffith from Hutchinson Trinity Catholic, David Knechtel from Inman, Erin Schwertfeger from Fairfield, Ava Broxterman from Smoky Valley, Adison Skinner from Little River, Owen Fetsch and Alyssa Harger from McPherson, Julia Allen from Elyria Christian, Mia Bryant from Lyons, Kira Blough from Moundridge, Virgil Guo, Anahi Sanchez and Natalie Sanchez from Newton, Kiela Hamby from Nickerson, Marisa Brewster from Norwich, Grace May from Pratt, Brayden Berens from Pratt Skyline, Noah Perry from Pretty Prairie, Elijah Foote from St. John-Hudson, Faith Ekart from Sterling.

The recognition ceremony honors the top academic one percent of Kansas high school seniors. Scholars are selected from accredited public and private schools in the state. There were 525 students selected this year.

“These high school seniors have shown dedication in their studies and a commitment to learning. They’ve earned this honor, and I want to congratulate them on this achievement,” Governor Kelley said. “We also should recognize their families, teachers, and mentors for helping these outstanding students achieve their academic goals.”

This program is coordinated for the Governor by the Confidence in Kansas Pubic Education Task Force. The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force was formed 41 years ago to strengthen confidence in public education. The following organizations are members of the Task Force: American Association of University Women, Kansas State Board of Education, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Congress of Parents and Teachers, Kansas State Department of Education, Kansas State High School Activities Association, Kansas National Education Association, Kansas League of Women Voters, and United School Administrators of Kansas.

CLICK HERE to download the Hutch Post mobile app.
CLICK HERE to sign up for the daily Hutch Post email news update.