Jun 23, 2022

McLaughlin wins Gold Glove

Posted Jun 23, 2022 1:17 PM

HutchCC Sports Information

Hutchinson Community College sophomore third baseman Ben McLaughlin capped off a tremendous 2022 season on Wednesday after earning an NJCAA ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove award.

The Gold Glove award capped an impressive list of postseason awards for the sophomore from Golden, Colorado. McLaughlin was also named second-team NJCAA All-American as well as first-team All-Jayhawk West, first-team All-Region VI and the Region VI Defensive Player of the Year.

McLaughlin is the fourth Blue Dragon in program history to earn a national Gold Glove. Others are Shane Cooper (shortstop) in 2017, Michael Helman (2nd base) in 2016 and Bennett Oliver (third base) in 2014.

McLaughlin started the 2022 season at first base and then moved to third base on March 24.

He committed no errors at third base over the final 32 games of the regular season and had just two errors at the hot corner all season long.

McLaughlin fielded .986 this season with only three errors in 222 fielding chances this season.

McLaughlin is the only Jayhawk Conference player to earn a national Gold Glove.

The future Arkansas Razorback also had a huge offensive season for the Blue Dragons in 2022.

McLaughlin was Hutchinson’s leading hitter with a .411 batting average (88 of 214). He hit 19 home runs and had 83 RBIs. He also had 23 doubles and posted a .511 on-base percentage with team highs of 34 walks and 13 hit-by-pitches.

McLaughlin ranked third in RBIs, tied for fourth in home runs, fourth in hits, tied for second in doubles and is tied for ninth in runs score in Blue Dragon single-season history.

In conference games this season, McLaughlin hit .431 with 10 home runs, 13 doubles, 50 total hits and 39 RBIs with 23 walks. He fielded .991 in 32 KJCCC games this season.


Pos.   Player                               School                                       Year           Field%

P         Treyjen Meza                 Cochise                                     So.              1.000

C         Drew Cavanaugh          Eastern Florida State           So.              1.000

1B       Henry Daniels                Abraham Baldwin                 Fr.               0.997

2B       Bruer Webster              Salt Lake                                  So.              0.994

3B       Ben McLaughlin            Hutchinson                             So.              0.986

SS       Dakota Harris                 Polk State                                So.              0.973

OF      Brayden Eavenson       Andrew College                    Fr.               1.000

OF      Matt Goetzmann         Southeast (NE)                      So.              1.000

OF      Barrett Riebock             Paris                                          Fr.               1.000