Nov 19, 2023

🏐 WVB: NJCAA D1 Volleyball Championship Saturday results

Posted Nov 19, 2023 7:57 PM
Champions for 2023
Champions for 2023

HUTCHINSON, Kan.-#1 seed Florida SouthWestern State (FL) defeated #3 seed Miami Dade (FL) for the 2023 NJCAA D1 Women's Championship 3 games to 1 on Saturday night at the Sports Arena in Hutchinson.

With Sunflower State ties, FSW Head Coach Thais Baziquetto-Allen is the former head coach of Seward County in Liberal. Allen also coached high School volleyball at Liberal High School.

Recap Courtesy of NJCAA Media

In a rematch of the 2022 championship title game, the No. 1 Buccaneers defeated third-seeded Miami Dade (FL) 3-1 to win the match. This marks the second consecutive national title for Florida SouthWestern in the program’s fifth season of existence. The Bucs become just the fifth team in NJCAA Division I Volleyball history to win back-to-back national titles.

Florida SouthWestern concluded the season with a 31-1 record and an 8-game win streak. The Buccaneers’ only loss of the season was to Miami Dade in a five-set contest on October 21.

Miami Dade won the first set 25-19 to kick off the 2023 NJCAA DI Volleyball Championship title game.

Florida SouthWestern stormed back to take the next three sets 25-16, 25-19, and 25-18.

In the championship, the Sharks compiled 51 kills, 48 assists, and 69 digs. The Buccaneers had 57 kills, 52 assists, and 53 digs.

The 2024 NJCAA D1 Women's Volleyball Championship will take place in Cedar Falls, Iowa. Cedar Falls was the site of this years DII and DIII event.


9th place - #13 Indian Hills (IA) defeated #14 Casper (WY) 25-22. 25-22, 25-17.

7th place - #9 College of Southern Idaho (ID) defeated #6 Weatherford College (TX) 25-21. 21-25, 25-19, 25-17.

5th place - #2 Northeastern (CO) defeated #4 Salt Lake (UT) 25-19, 21-25, 25-21, 25-19.

3rd place - #7 Navarro College (TX) defeated #5 Trinity Valley (TX) 25-19. 25-16. 25-16.

Championship - #1 Florida Southwestern State (FL) defeated #3 Miami Dade 19-25, 25-16, 25-19, 25-18.