Dec 03, 2019 12:58 PM

Blue Dragon Football coaches announce team awards for 2019

Posted Dec 03, 2019 12:58 PM

HUTCHINSON, Kan. - Hutchinson Community College head Football Coach Rion Rhoades released his team awards on his Dragon Talk with Rion Rhoades coaches show on Monday night on KWBW Radio.

Connor Lierz, sophomore center from Manhattan, KS was named the team's offensive lineman of the year. Latrell Bankston, sophomore defensive lineman out of Woodstock, GA and Kimari Gainous, sophomore defensive lineman out of Tallahassee, FL were named defensive lineman of the year.

This year's offensive player of the year was transfer sophomore quarterback, Mark Wright out of Douglassville, GA.

Latrell Bankston was named the defensive player of the year. Bankston was on every Division 1 Christmas list, but has signed with Iowa State to continue his football career.

Three players shared the honors for Special Teams player of the year. That honor goes to Tiyon Evans, freshman running back from Hartsville, SC, Mitchel Tinsley, sophomore wide receiver out of Lee's Summit, MO and Jonathan White, sophomore running back from Quitman, GA.

The No. 3 ranked Hutchinson (9-2) will match up against No. 17 Monroe College out of New Rochelle, NY in the 11th annual Salt City Bowl on Saturday, December 7th in Gowans Stadium at 1:00 pm.

Catch all the action with the Eagle Radio Sports team with the Papa John's countdown to Kickoff Show at 12:30 pm. Kickoff set for 1:00 pm on Hutchinson's Country Station, KHUT 102.9 fm and KWBW 1450 am/98.5fm.

The Blue Dragon Sports Network will also stream the game for the NJCAA.